Learning without study

My anxiety of being around complete strangers is definitely one of the elements of this scholarship that is being tested the most! 

image

I definitely yearn for the familiar comfort of my support network at the moment, and the soothing knowledge of having someone nearby who cares about me and my well-being.

There’s nothing more isolating than being unable to help yourself, without relying on the goodwill of others but (of course) standing on my own two feet and being independent is another part of this scholarship experience.  It really is the gift that just keeps on giving!

Today was the first day I had felt vulnerable and helpless, struggling with the musculoskeletal strength of a sea cucumber and feeling fatigued; one of my biggest fears for this scholarship. My legs weren’t capable of keeping me upright for long, let alone walk the few hundred yards to Tesco, but with no food in my room, I had to work something out, or simply go hungry!  I could have easily text my instructor and he would have happily come over and helped, but every day is a learning day, so I ordered a taxi. The discomfort of getting in a car with a complete stranger is a whole other level of anxiety I am working on!

So now I am sat crocheting planes, with a smug grin on my face, because I have a bag of grapes and a bottle of tonic water to enjoy this evening – I imagine this is how fishermen feel when they land a blue marlin, well almost. 

I am fast realising just how much it’s possible to learn without study.

Flying Scholarships for Disabled People is only able to deliver flying scholarships as a result of the incredible generosity of donations and fundraising. This year they are introducing their Scholars’ Scholar campaign which aims to raise at least £10,000 – enough to fund one scholarship.  My blog is my small part of that campaign and I hope to help raise £500 to say thank you for this incredible gift. If my story has inspired you to donate, please visit my Virgin Money Giving  page. Thank you.

2 thoughts on “Learning without study

  1. ejhalls 25/06/2016 / 22:21

    Sounds tough, and you really need your batteries to recharge over the weekend! Have you got enough wool to keep you going?😬

    Like

Leave a comment